Shooting Center Suhl-Friedberg

History of the Suhl Shooting center (SSZ)

The developments in the history of firearms in Suhl in particular as a result of local craftsmanship and jobs that were available created a situation where many local people became enthusiastic about shooting. Suhl was the only place in Germany where firearms were made in the 15th – 17th centuries.

The first shooting center was built in Suhl in 1703 and was constantly expanded down through the years.

But there was no suitable shooting range in Suhl for fairly large competitions. The well-known Fajas Clay Pigeon Competition, in 1964 for example, was still held in Leipzig. Many well-known marksmen from earlier periods are still familiar names today – e.g. Erich Krempel or Hugo Heim, and they made Suhl famous for marksmanship.

The shooting center in Suhl has opened its gates in the year of 1971. In the same year, the first European championships took place in Suhl. Another European championship competition was held at the Suhl Shooting center in 1978. And sportsmen and visitors alike praised the shooting center on the Friedberg when the 1986 World Championships were held there. 80,000 spectators watched the events of this world championship with huge enthusiasm, and just as many people were able to watch them on television during the live broadcasts – the first in shooting. This global reputation of being an outstanding location for competitions still holds true today. 61 nations took part in this world championship.

This level of popularity resulted in annual international competitions, like the World Cup, the Grand Prix or other cup competitions with many sportsmen and women coming from abroad, were held here. They further consolidated the reputation of the Suhl facilities.

State subsidies discontinued after the fall of the Berlin Wall, the center suffered financial problems and ownership issues had to be clarified. Plans to turn the site into a golf center or a CD factory were considered. Then the Suhl Shooting center sponsoring association was founded in 1993. The mayor of the time, Dr. Martin Kummer, was its president. Now the center caters for the complete range of Olympic events!

The center covers an area of approx. 29 hectares and is divided into two different shooting areas, one for sports and the other for hunting. The sports area caters for shooting with guns or pistols and the hunting area involves clay pigeon shooting – trap, skeet and double trap or what is known as "running target practice".

The SSZ is now an Olympic center, a federal and state competitive sport center, but it is also available for leisure and popular sports.


It goes without saying that reconstruction work was required on a center that needs to meet the highest requirements so as to enable it to match the latest standards. As a result, reconstruction work took place on the SSZ from 1997 until 1999, which cost DM 22.8 million. The federal government, the state government and the municipality each provided one third of the funds.

In addition to the construction of a reception and information hall, above all the 50 m long gun and pistol shooting ranges, the large multi-purpose hall, the clay pigeon shooting ranges, accommodation for sportsmen and women and tourists and the administration center were all thoroughly modernised and made accessible for the disabled. Now conference and seminar rooms enhance the possibilities offered by the shooting center, thus consolidating the Suhl Shooting center's claim to be one of the most modern facilities in the world.

The large multi-purpose hall is also equipped with a very modern ventilation and heating system and a gym.

Schießsportzentrum Suhl-Friedberg

Geschichte des Suhler Schießsportzentrums

Durch die handwerkliche und berufsbedingte Entwicklung in der Waffengeschichte vor allem in Suhl war abzusehen, dass auch viele Bürger für das Schießen ihre Begeisterung fanden. In der Zeit des 15. – 17. Jh. war Suhl der einzige Ort der Waffenherstellung Deutschland.

1703 wurde das erste Schießhaus in Suhl errichtet und im Laufe der Jahre ständig erweitert.

Dennoch gab es in Suhl keinen geeigneten Schießstand für größere Wettkämpfe. So wurden die bekannten Fajas-Wurftauben-Wettkämpfe, z.B. um 1964, noch in Leipzig abgehalten. Viele bekannte Sportschützen der früheren Zeiten sind heute noch bekannt, wie z.B. Erich Krempel und Hugo Heim, die Suhl schon in Punkto Schießkunst berühmt machten.

Das Schießsportzentrum in Suhl wurde 1971 in Betrieb genommen. Im selben Jahr ging hier die erste Europa­meisterschaft über die Bühne. 1978 folgte eine weitere Europameisterschaft. Und auch die 44. Weltmeister­schaft 1986 brachte dem Schießsportzentrum auf dem Friedberg Anerkennung durch Sportler und Besucher zugleich. 80.000 Zuschauer verfolgten begeistert diese Weltmeisterschaft, und ebenso viele Zuschauer am Fernsehen konnten dies bei der 1. Fernseh-Live­übertragungen, die es überhaupt je im Schießsport gegeben hatte, mitverfolgen. Diese weltweite Anerkennung als hervorragende Wettkampfstätte wird ihr bis heute bestätigt. 61 Nationen beteiligten sich an dieser WM.

Jährliche internationale Wettkämpfe wie der Weltcup, der Grand Prix und verschiedene Pokalwettkämpfe mit starker internationaler Beteiligung waren das Ergebnis dieser Popularität und haben den Ruf der Suhler Anlage weiterhin gefestigt.

Nach der Wende fielen staatliche Zuschüsse weg, Liquiditätsprobleme herrschten und Eigentumsfragen mussten geklärt werden. Pläne zur Umwandlung in ein Golfzentrum oder eine CD-Fabrik kamen in Betracht. 1993 wurde dann der Förderverein SSZ e. V. gegründet. Der Präsident wurde der damalige Oberbürgermeister Dr. Martin Kummer. Heute kann auf dieser Anlage das gesamte olympisches Programm geschossen werden!

Die Anlage selbst umfasst ca. 29 Hektar und ist in zwei verschiedene Bereiche geteilt. Zum einen in das sportliche und jagdliche Schießen. Zum sportlichen Teil des Schießens gehören das Schießen mit Gewehr und Pistole, zum jagdlichen Schießen gehören das Wurfscheibenschießen wie Trap, Skeet und Doppeltrap sowie das „Laufende-Scheibe-Schießen“.

Das SSZ ist heute Olympiastützpunkt, Bundes­leistungs­zentrum, Landesleistungszentrum, existiert aber genauso für den Breiten- und Freizeitsport.


Natürlich wurden an einer solchen Anlage mit höchsten Ansprüchen Rekonstruktionen notwendig, um auf dem neusten Stand der Zeit zu bleiben. Daher erfolgten in der Zeit von 1997 bis 1999 Rekonstruktionsmaßnahmen im SSZ für 22,8 Millionen DM. Kosten, die zu je einem Drittel von Bund, Land und Stadt getragen wurden.

Neben dem Neubau einer Empfangs- und Informationshalle wurden vor allem die 50 m Gewehr- und Pistolenstände, die große Mehrzweckhalle, die Wurfscheibenstände, die Sportler- und Touristenunterkünfte und das Verwaltungsgebäude grundlegend modernisiert und behindertengerecht ausgeführt. Konferenz- und Seminarräume ergänzen heute die Möglichkeiten der Nutzung der Schießsportanlage, was das Schießsportzentrum Suhl wieder in der Tatsache bekräftigt, zu einer der modernsten Anlagen der Welt zu zählen.

Zudem ist die große Mehrzweckhalle mit einer hochmodernen Belüftungs- und Heizungsanlage und einem Krafttrainings-Raum ausgestattet.